The 2016 edition of the FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix will feature 28 countries competing for honours.

The 24th edition of the world’s premier annual women’s volleyball tournament will be held from June 3 to July 12, 2016, with the Group 1 Finals set to take place from July 6-10 in Bangkok.

Continuing from 2015, a total of 28 teams will participate following the successful increase in countries in 2014.

The 28 teams have been split across three groups with 12 – defending champions and world No. 1 USA, China, Brazil, Russia, Japan, Serbia, Italy, Turkey, Germany, Thailand, Belgium and newly promoted 2015 Group 2 winners the Netherlands – competing in Group 1. The Group 1 Intercontinental Round will be played over three weekends in four-team pools, with the top five of the combined standings plus hosts Thailand making it to the Final Six.

The Dominican Republic, Argentina, Puerto Rico, Canada, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic and Poland, plus 2015 Group 3 winners Kenya form the eight-team Group 2.

And Group 3 features Cuba, Algeria, Peru, Croatia, Kazakhstan, Colombia, Mexico and Australia.

The Group 2 and 3 Intercontinental Rounds will be played in four-team pools over two weekends, followed by Final Four tournaments amongst the top three of the combined standings plus the hosts within each group.

The Final Four tournaments will be held from June 17-19 in Bulgaria for Group 2 and in Kazakhstan for Group 3.


All the News